In Conversation with Indrajeet

3 Oct

So… your favorite blog is back… for those who missed me… well get some work people and those who didn’t… never mind… i didn’t missed you too… 😛

You would ask… where was I? Well… there was some problem with my WordPress site. It rejected to open… until yesterday and when it opened…  notifications hanging on the left side of the screen brought nostalgia. Well… talking about today’s topic… its Dusshehra… as many of you would know.  And if you remember the last year’s Dusshehra… I had met Ravana. So, how could the stars spare me this time. But, this time.. it was Meghnada. Meghanda… this name, he got because of his vocal qualities. It is said that his voice was as powerful as the thundering of clouds. He is also known as Indrajeet, as he had won Indra, the king of all deities.

So, this time I was roaming in the park near my home, when I meet this person in broken hawaii chappals, an old jeans and patched t- shirt. He called me and asked if I had some water.

I went to him with water in one hand and a ready fist to break his nose if he tries to do anything wrong in the other. He was breathing heavily, and grabbed the water bottle from my hand. He was looking quite feeble and it was evident from his face that he had not eaten anything for days. As a responsible citizen, I brought out the pepper spray from my bag, and went a bit closer to him and asked

“Are you okay?”

Hearing this, he looked at me with surprise as if he didn’t knew I was there. He was continuously staring at me and then looked at the bottle that I had given him.

“You can see me?” He asked in amazement.

With this question, there was no doubt left that the man was insane, and I should leave. As I hurriedly turned back, he asked again.

“Can you really see me?”

This time his voice was stronger and it felt like a cloud has burst somewhere.

I was totally horrified, but kept a clam face and said, “Yes… I can see you, that is why I could give you that water bottle.”

“Do you know who am I?”

My mind crossed all the limits of what this man thinks he is. What  will he tell me… maybe he would say that he is Barack Obama or Bill Gates or maybe the creepy “tumahra aashiq”. But I held my mind firmly and asked… “No, I don’t know..”

“Even with this voice… oh… maybe I have lost it… Well I am Meghnad.. nice to meet you…” He extended his hand towards me for a hand shake.

Now after hearing that, the questions were turned, Am I insane? Why do I encounter this family every Dusshehra?

“Oh… hi… nice to meet you…” I replied.

“You are not surprised? I mean meeting the Satyuga devil must be unheard of..”

“No.. not for me… actually I had met your father last year. So, I can totally understand that this is happening.”

“Oh… so you are that little girl… ya dad was telling he met a fool those days.”

“Yeah.. thanks for bringing that up… what are you doing here… and in these clothes?”

“Yeah.. dad told me that Delhites can rob you… so you better be cautious… so I came prepared… now tell me would anyone rob me?”

“No… I guess no… but then why were you… like… dying for water?”

“Oh… I just ate an apple… it is so adulterated… almost killed me… how do you people survive?”

“Ok… you don’t need to care about the world… what are you doing here?”

“Oh… my father told that you make excellent effigies of dad, Khumbhakaran uncle and me.. so just strolled down from hell to enjoy the show.”

“Do you know that while we burn you down, we imagine  that you are actually dying.”

“Ya… I know and I am here to witness the fake content on your faces.” He smiled.

As i turned back to head towards my home, he questioned

“Why do you think those petty men of woods you all worship able to kill the most powerful threesome in the world.?”

“Maybe because they were justified. Their lady was in your wrongful confinement… they repeatedly asked you to return her, but you denied… they didn’t kill you… that lady’s will killed you.”

“Do you know that I was murdered when I was in meditation. I was doing a yagya when they came stealthily in the cave and killed me… how would you justify that? Killing an unarmed person?”

“I think it’s totally justified. And the moral of your story is that if you call Gods with a wrong intention, they will come and treat you right.”

“But I was the most powerful… I defeated Indra… defeated that Laxmana twice and even Rama once… but they killed me with wrong means… nothing can justify their wrong means.”

“You cannot complain… even you and your brother had used wrong tactics.”

“But if they do the same wrong, then how are they different from us?”

“They are different because they didn’t defeated you to prove or show the world that you are weak… they fought for a cause… and there is no further justification for whatever they did.”

“I guess you are no longer a fool that my father met.” He said in despair.

“But I like one thing about you…” I said.

“What?” He asked excitedly.

“That you won over Indra… I mean that’s a big achievement.”

“Oh… that was a cake piece for me…”

“Sigh…” I looked at my watch. It was almost 7.

“Oh… it’s time.” I told him.

“What are we waiting for then? Let’s go and enjoy the show… after all that 5 minute affair is all what Dusshehra is about.. isn’t it?”

He said these words very casually, and walked with me to the open ground where announcement of a corrupt politician to come forward and shoot the burning arrow towards Meghnad was being made.

 

images

Leave a Reply

