The Link- 22- The One With Many Doubts

20 Jun

The next day, as Kriti, Nidhin and Mrs. Roy were getting ready to reach the Airport,  Nidhin’s phone rang.

“Hi… Abhigyan… how are you?” Nidhin tried to sound as casual as he could.

“The same as you left me… I thought over it the whole night… can I meet you people again?”

“Ya… you can.. we would be glad… but I just wanted to warn you..”

“Warn??  What did I do?”

“Yesterday, you made her cry… I don’t want that to happen again..”

“I will try..”

“Okay… so where should we meet?”

“Have you visited Bangalore Fort… its a nice place..”

“Not yet..”

“Okay… then see you there… at 12… if its fine with you.”

“It is..” Nidhin put off the call. He went to Kriti’s room to tell her about the change in plan.

“Why would he want to meet again?” Mrs. Roy asked in a worried tone.

“Aunty… I don’t know… he just called up and said he wanted to meet… maybe he realised that what we were bluffing, and maybe now he wants to listen seriously to our story..”

“Maybe? What do you mean by maybe… and if we are just going there on the basis of assumptions then ‘maybe’ he has invited us to make fun of me or to…” Kriti said in an anguished tone.

“Ya… you maybe absolutely right… but I may also be absolutely right… and we can only know who is actually right… by meeting him again… Kriti… maybe it’s the last shot and I know you don’t want to miss this shot.”

“Is this even worth a shot… I mean how does it matter at all… he is nobody… I know that… he is just a random guy I met on a stupid website… how would he in the first place help me in regaining my memory… it’s obvious that he does not know anything about me…”

“Kriti… the question is not what he would do or if he is important or not… the question is why do you remember him… and about the stupid website… I had told that to you a hundred times before you lost your memory and each time you would defend your writing and today when you are telling that it’s stupid… strange thing… but I would like to tell you that it’s not stupid… the stuff you write is not stupid…”

“Hmm… whatever… Mom what do you think… should we go?”

“Do you want to go?”

“Maybe”

“Here I am missing the old Kriti, she never used to be too confused while taking any decision… well… you should go…”

“What do you mean by you should go? You are not coming along?”

“I think I should not. He was quite frightened to see me yesterday at the restaurant  and I don’t want to repeat that… I still remember how much baffled he was to see all new faces..”

“Okay…”

At the Bangalore Fort:

Nidhin and Kriti met their host in the extended park of the historical ruin.

“So… how are you?” Kriti asked.

“I really don’t think you to be the appropriate person to ask questions like this…” He wanted to add more but his eyes fell on Nidhin’s plain face.

“Well, first of all, this is your bag… you had left it yesterday… we had no intention to carry it but the waiter thought that we knew each other and we would return it to the rightful owner.. so…” Nidhin handed the packet to Abhigyan.

“Oh… this was meant for Kriti… I mean as a co- blogger…”

“Why had you invited us?” Nidhin interrupted him.

“What are you? His spokesperson?”

“I don’t have to tell you…” Nidhin said.

“Fine… Kriti… I wanted to talk to you… see… I am very sorry for my behaviour yesterday… but I think you would understand that it was not completely my fault… and i understand that it was not even your fault… now… I am still amazed at the fact that someone in this world can remember a person whom he or she has never even met or known… but the interesting question that needs to be answered is why me… and since in the question I am involved… I would like to help you in finding the answer… if you allow me…”

“How would you help me?”

“I don’t know… I just don’t know… but you didn’t came here  just to meet me… you came here in search of a person who  has a connection with you… the connection is the mystery. And I think it would be easier to solve it  if both the people at their ends try to probe into it..”

“So… you want it to do for yourself?” Asked Kriti.

“Ya… absolutely…”

“Okay… That’s a good idea…what do you think Nidhin?”

Nidhin smiled and said, “I remember you asking your mom today about going or not going to meet this person and now here you just took a prompt decision… the old one is still there…”

Kriti smiled. She turned to Abhigyan and said, “So… I don’t know what I should say… We have to leave now… but I think we would be in touch now..?”

“Ya sure…” Abhigyan reposed confidence in her.

“So.. I guess we should leave now.” Nidhin interrupted.

“Umm… Kriti… Yesterday… I had brought this for you… please accept it now…”

“You really don’t have to do this..” Nidhin jumped into the conversation.

“No… I think I will take it.. thank you… would you mind if I open it here?” She asked, ignoring Nidhin’s words.

“No… not at all…”

She opened the gift wrapped object and it was a keyboard.

“Keyboard?” She asked with surprise.

“Ya… I couldn’t think of anything better for an online writer. The instruments of a conventional writer are diary and notepads and pens, but for bloggers like us, it is more of technology and these outputs that help us in getting published… so…”

“How thoughtful of you.. it is really… cool.” Kriti stammered.

“So.. I think we should leave now.” Nidhin reminded Kriti.

Kriti gave Nidhin a deadly look, but bid goodbye to Abhigyan and left the place.

“Why were you in such a hurry? Why were you so rude?” Kriti asked him in an angry tone.

“Because he was too sweet and so helpful… he was absolutely not sounding like the person we met yesterday…”

“So… you have a problem with everything… last night he was rude… you had a problem… today he was sweet then also you have a problem. What is your problem?”

“I don’t know…”

“Nidhin… any problem?”

“I don’t know…”

“Will you tell me when you would know?”

“Maybe..”

“Okay…”images

 

 

3 Responses to “The Link- 22- The One With Many Doubts”

  1. Arindam Saha July 12, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

    The last part…

    “So… you have a problem with everything… last night he was rude… you had a problem… today he was sweet then also you have a problem. What is your problem?”

    Hahahaha 😀

    And… BTW… Love Triangle in construction?

Leave a Reply

