The Link- 21- The One With Orchids

2 May

“Umm… huh??” Abhigyan looked at the waiter in a lost state.

“I think… we would be ordering after sometime… we will call you..” Nidhin said.

“Umm… no… no… wait… okay just go..” Abhigyan said in utter indecision.

He looked up at Kriti, and asked.. “Why?? I mean… why are you playing such a prank… I know this is pure hoax and you can very well see that i have been fooled, so now you can reveal the truth and admit that I have been fooled.”

“We are not fooling you and this is not a hoax… actually we came all the way from Delhi… just to meet you… we have no project work…”

“So… there is some lie involved…thank God..” He said.

“See… Abhigyan… I know… you might be finding it difficult understand the situation…”

“No…no… I am not… she met with an accident… and then after she regained her consciousness… she forgot everything, but one image on WordPress… where unfortunately, my comment was posted… right?? Did I missed on anything?”

“No… you didn’t…”

“So.. it’s clear that you are messing up with me… but please now, enough is enough..”

“Abhigyan… why don’t you get it… we are telling you the truth… and we are not here to frighten you… just to let you know that there is someone… a person like this… who remembers you in the whole world… the moment she has woken up… she wants to know about you… she didn’t even remembered herself… but you… and we just wanted you to know this… that’s it..” A soft but balanced voice jumped into the conversation.

“Who is she?” He asked.

“My mom…” Kriti answered in a sulking voice.

“Why didn’t she joined us for the dinner?”

“We didn’t wanted to scare you..”

“Well… you did a really bad job in that respect…umm… I think I should leave…waiter… please bring the cheque…”

“Umm.. Abhigyan… We know that you might be puzzled, anxious, surprised, upset and really very angry… but it’s just the truth..that we wanted to tell you.” Kriti said in a low vice.

“I am just one thing at the moment… that you didn’t mentioned… I am just confused… maybe after that phase is over… I would move on to the things you mentioned.

The waiter came with the bill. Mrs. Roy grabbed it from his hands and paid it.

“So… I guess… I am sorry for the evening…” Abhigyan said this and left. He didn’t waited for any reply to come and the conversation to move any further.

“He must have been scared..” Nidhin tried to console Kriti.

“I don’t know… our plan… just blew off.” Kriti said in distress.

“I think we should also leave…” Mrs. Roy suggested.

As they were coming out from the restaurant, a waiter came running to them with a bag.

“Sir, I am afraid, but you were forgetting this on the table.” He said to Nidhin.

“No.. this ain’t ours.”

“But, Sir, the gentleman, you just had dinner with, had brought this with him.. so..”

“Okay… I will take it… thank you…”

The waiter gave him a hassled look.

“What would we do with this??”

“Let’s get to the hotel.”

They reached the hotel where they were staying, in almost 15 minutes by the taxi drive.

“Should I open what he brought for us?” Kriti asked her mom.

“He didn’t gifted you this… he just forgot to take this with him… we cannot accept what is not offered to us..” Mrs. Roy resisted her.

Kriti went outside to get some fresh air. She roamed in the garden of the hotel.

“What are you doing here?” Nidhin’s voice clashed into her ears.

“Nothing..”

“That’s interesting… because I saw you roaming here, looking at those white orchids… you know what orchids symbolise??”

“What?” She asked.

“Well… in different cultures they are symbols of purity, and there are also some healing, disease fighting and protective properties that orchids have… but the main thing is that they are very rare… it is very difficult to grow them and even the bestΒ  gardeners may fail to cultivate them. And do you know one more thing?”

“NO… what is that?”

“You like orchids… because you thought that you are like them… its difficult to understand you, to be with you… its rare that someone would actually understand you…”

“These were the thoughts I had about myself?? Nidhin, can you tell me one thing?”

“What?”

“Did i hated myself or I loved myself??”

“You were just too possessive about yourself and you had that fear that you will loose yourself if someone would come close to you..”

“But it seems that you were very close.. I mean you really understand me…”

“The thing was that I was close to you but it was not same vice versa… so you actually never understood me and that’s why you never knew…”

“Kind of complicated… right..?”

“If you compare that to what happened today… I guess ya… a bit..”

“Today… today…it all screwed… very badly…”

“Don’t worry… everything would fall in place…”

images

 

6 Responses to “The Link- 21- The One With Orchids”

  1. ShethP May 3, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    Interesting how you weaved in the orchids… πŸ™‚ Wonder what wil happen next…

    • harshdamangal7 May 3, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

      Thanks… I hope to read that soon too πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

      • ShethP May 3, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

        Haha, πŸ™‚

  2. Bhakti May 24, 2014 at 1:09 am #

    Waiting for the next one πŸ™‚

    • harshdamangal7 May 28, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

      I hate saying this… but you would have to wait longer… exams are going on… 😦 …

      • Bhakti May 28, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

        No problem Harshda πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

