The Link- 19- The One Where They Meet

23 Apr

“So… are you excited to meet him?” Kriti asked her mom and Nidhin, while they were waiting for the flight to fly, sitting inside the plane that was going to take them to Bangalore in almost one and a half hour.

Her mom just smiled at this question. Kriti had been asking this question since the previous night and had repeated it almost 5 times, the present day. Nidhin had stuffed his ears with the headphone and had started watching a movie coming on the plane’s personal screen. Not getting  the excited reaction from both, Kriti just sat quietly, searching for something to divert her mind from Abhigyan. She started reading a magazine.

The flight attendant came and gave the general information about the four emergency gates in the plane and also gave the specific instructions as to how and when they are to be used.

As the plane started moving on the runway, Kriti felt someone’s touch on her hand. She moved her neck to watch out. It was Nidhin’s hand… trembling with fear, his eyes were closed and he was breathing quite unusually. She laughed at this behaviour of Nidhin. She kept her other hand on his hand to support him. Nidhin opened his eyes and looked into Kriti’s.

“Are you okay?” Asked Kriti.

“Ha?” He asked in an addled tone.

“I… was asking… if you are okay..” Kriti repeated.

“Oh… I… I… yes… umm… okay… I am okay…”

“You sure?”

“Absolutely…”

The flight had taken off and the plane was quite stable in the air. Nidhin made an eye contact with Kriti and brought her attention to their hands. Kriti quickly removed her hand from Nidhin’s and focused on the movie being  telecasted in the plane.

“I am sorry…” Nidhin said to control his stirness.

“It’s okay… are you afraid of height??” Kriti asked.

“No… you see… it’s the first time I am travelling by plane.”

“Ohkay… umm.. why?”

“Because my father’s income does not allowed me to…”

“But… for this flight you didn’t let me pay… why did you paid if…I mean…”

“First… I paid for my ticket because I do a side job after college and the savings were enough to buy the ticket, second, I didn’t wanted anyone.. to think that I am all at your expenses and third… it’s my first flight travel… let me enjoy it… so please shut up…”

“Oh…” Kriti just said this, but she kept looking at Nidhin.

After about 2 hours of an experience in the air vessel, they arrived at the Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru. Nidhin called Abhigyan and asked him about his schedule. Abhigyan told him that he had asked for a leave and it was granted too, but at the last moment, his boss called him over to finish some urgent work, so he would not be able to meet at the planned time, but would meet him up for dinner.

Nidhin told about the change of plans to Kriti and his mom.

“How can he do that??” Kriti showed displeasure.

“Well he can..” Mrs. Roy tried to soothe her out.

“But when we were scheduled to meet for lunch… how can he convert it into dinner?? I mean how can he, so take us for granted… i mean..”

“You are right, Kriti…” Nidhin interrupted. “Let’s go back to Delhi..”

“Should we?” she changed her tone… “I mean how can we leave without meeting him… I mean…”

“Just shut up and head over to the hotel… I know you are not going anywhere without meeting that blogger.” Nidhin said casually.

“Hmm…” she sighed.

In the evening, Kriti called Nidhin in her room. She was confused about what she should dress in.

“See… ma is saying that this blue kurta and jeans would be quite subtle but I think that this black kurta and jeans would be better… what’s your opinion?”

Nidhin was quite in a fix, because Mrs. Roy was sitting next to Kriti and he knew that if he picks the blue one, Mrs. Roy would be extremely happy because it might be after a very long time that her daughter would be doing something that she likes. So he picked the blue one.

“See… i told you… why did you troubled Nidhin?” Mrs. Roy says.

“I just thought it better to take a second opinion…” Kriti said in a low voice.

“Aunty, I was thinking that since you are coming with us… you should sit at another table… I mean he should not know that we are three people… I mean see… he himself would be quite nervous and apprehensive to meet two strangers… and he might get more fearful to meet the girl’s mom… I mean it’s just a suggestion..”

“No… it’s okay… actually I was thinking the same that it might not be good to surprise him too much… I will stay away from him but close to you…” Mrs. Roy said, looking at Nidhin.

Nidhin called Abhigyan to confirm the meeting.

Nidhin reached at the restaurant with Kriti, 10 minutes late owing to the traffic.

Kriti saw a man, dressed in lime colored shirt and black trousers with black shoes. He was wearing a Polo watch in his right wrist. He had a sober hairstyle and his height was almost 5’6″. The table along which he was standing had white cloth spread over it and on the extreme right side of the table, a small bag was kept. They reached near the table.

“Hi… I am Nidhin… and she is your co- blogger… Kriti…” Nidhin introduced himself and his friend.

“Wow… Hi… I am Abhigyan… Hi Kriti… so nice to meet you…” He said.

Kriti didn’t said anything. She wanted to, but it seemed that words choked into her throat.

 

So... the story is getting complicated...

So… the story is getting complicated…

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “The Link- 19- The One Where They Meet”

  1. ShethP April 24, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

    Hey! I was catching up with your story after a long time and I was wondering if you could assign a category to “The Link” with all its chapters so that it would be easier to navigate and find all the chapters in one place. Just a suggestion… 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your story… Good luck on your journey!

    • harshdamangal7 April 25, 2014 at 4:30 pm #

      Thank you very much for the suggestion… suggestions are always welcomed… 🙂 thanks for liking this series.. 🙂

      • ShethP April 26, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

        🙂

      • harshdamangal7 April 26, 2014 at 7:57 pm #

        I have updated all the chapters of the novel by categorizing them under “The Link’…. thank you for the suggestion once again… and I hope now it would be easier to browse them… 🙂

      • ShethP April 26, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

        Aw, thank you. It will definitely be easier! Yay! 😀

      • harshdamangal7 April 26, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

        🙂

Leave a Reply

