The Link-18- The One With The Excitement

20 Apr

“Nidhin do you realise that it’s only 2 days left… that I would meet him..” Kriti said enthusiastically.

“Ya… i know… the realisation is imposed on me by you after every 10 minutes.” Nidhin said in a low voice.

“I am sorry… but I can’t help it…” Kriti said joyously.

“Well… you would be happy to know that Abhigyan had called yesterday and he was asking for your number.”

“You gave it?”

“Of course not…”

“I mean why?? You should have given him my number..”

“And then he would have called and you might have spitted the truth and then maybe he would have cancelled the meeting at all…. or he might have called and tried to hit on you…. Kriti you don’t know that person… no one knows him… how could I have possibly given your number to an unknown person?”

“I had given you my number at a time when you were more stranger to me than Abhigyan is… and he was never a stranger… in fact he was the only person I knew… although remotely… but I knew… when I had forgotten even my name.”

“So… what do you want me to do? If I would have given your no. and he would have misused it or irritated you, then also you would have yelled at me… you want to talk to him… take his no.”

“Why are you yelling at me??? Who are you to yell at me…?

Nidhin stood quiet for a second and then said, “You are becoming the old Kriti…” He left that place after saying this.

Kriti didn’t knew why she said that to Nidhin. And why Nidhin said that to her. Who is the old Kriti that no one wants?  What kind of person was she, about whom no one even wants to talk…

She didn’t stayed any longer for the classes and straightaway went to her home.

Mrs. Roy was surprised to see the girl at that hour of the day. But, couldn’t ask Kriti anything as Kriti stormed into the house with visible anger on her face.

Mrs. Roy prepared some snacks and then went to her room.

“Are you upset?” She asked as she entered her room.

“Ya… kind of…i had a fight with Nidhin..”

“Why… i mean if I may ask”

“Just… i mean he said something and I said something that maybe I shouldn’t have…”

“So… you know that it’s your mistake?” She asked.

“Ya… it’s my mistake… ”

“Then… you should just say sorry…”

“I will… mom can I ask you something?”

“Ya… sure…”

“Who am I?”

“You.. you are Kriti Roy…”

“Don’t tell me what I already know… today when I said something to Nidhin he said I am becoming that old Kriti… why did he said that?? I want to know about that Kriti..”

“Its just that you were moody and arrogant… you had no respect for other’s feelings… you were blunt and outspoken and you hardly cared for anyone…”

“And why was I like that?? I mean there got to be a reason for me being such an ice..”

“Plus you were hideous… you never used to tell anyone what’s going on with your life… so.. I seriously do not know why you were so hard on things..”

“Hmm… I will find out… i will definitely…” She said.

“I hope the same… well have you talked to Nidhin about Bangalore… I mean he talked to Abhigyan?”

“Ya… he did… are you excited to meet Abhigyan?” She asked her mom.

“Of course I am…” Mrs. Roy said smiling.

“But it seems Nidhin is not… I mean he doesn’t seem hopeful about Abhigyan… It seems he has this feeling that Abhigyan is a wrong person.”

“He is just having doubts about the unknown… it’s normal… Nidhin is a very good friend… and his worry proves that fact… who is Abhigyan?? We barely know him and the people we don’t know should be carefully watched. Nidhin is doing that for you..” Mrs. Roy took Nidhin’s stand on the situation.

Just then, Kriti’s phone rang. It was Nidhin.

“Hello..” Kriti answered. Mrs. Roy stood up and walked away from the room.

“Ya… I am sorry for today..” Nidhin said from the other side.

“I am sorry… I shouldn’t have shouted…” Kriti apologized.

“Hmm… and I just want you to know that I will not interfere in your life like I had started doing lately..”

“No… I mean… You don’t interfere… you are just being careful for me… and I would like you to continue that…”

“Are you sure?”

“Absolutely…”

“Do you want his number?”

“Whose numberindex?”

“No one’s..” At this… both of them had a laugh.

 

 

Leave a Reply

