The Festival of Voting

10 Apr

“VOTE!!!”

This word was being shrilled upon my head, by every news channel, every entertainment channel, in the college and in the house too….

Vote… ya let’s vote… people raise hands who want to eat pumpkin for dinner, only one hand raised…

Now people who want to eat chicken curry… three hands raised… majority wins…

Voting helps in taking the most simple to the most complex decisions in everybody’s life. Where the decision  is going to affect many, it is considered prudent to ask everybody about their opinion. And everytime, the majority wins… the quality of decision does not matter, the decision itself doesn’t matter, what matters is that the decision has been taken collectively…

In India, we are witnessing a period of change, they say. A phase of transformation, a phase that will create a history and a phase that will bring in a future that belongs to the people.

But, doesn’t these fancy lines being propagated every five years, when elections come? Don’t we face the same sarcasm and despair again and again?

What’s new this time? Except people going to vote and immediately uploading the selfy snaps with the inked index finger. The mode of campaigning has changed, social media is optimally exploited for the purpose. What’s new this elections? Maybe that people are talking more about it, people are taking interest in politics and they are interested to know who wins. Because somehow, they want to be the part of that majority.

Now coming to the main post…

With the election fever on… many States already have and many are in the process of witnessing the use of the only powerful tool with the citizens of India, i.e. voting. Today, it happened in Delhi. I opened my fb profile at around 11 in the morning and found around 10-20 people’s profile pic or cover page changed. Many of them were photos of the party they were going to vote for, and others kept that obsession to themselves and just uploaded their photos with the captions like “Feeling nervous, first time to vote”, “Felt good, first time to vote”… and the like. I was surprised, I mean pleasantly surprised, but shortly the pleasant thing gave way. My phone rang and the rose of my house (househelp’s name is Gulabo), informed me that she is on a leave because of elections. Her argument? Sabji(my father) got a holiday, you got a holiday… everybody should be equal… and my reaction. “Sigh! Indeed”.

So, the leisure time to browse upon internet was over and it was time to encounter the miseries of real life. I finished her job in almost half and hour and then switched on the TV to catch up with the news. All over it was elections… bringing you the live coverage, other said, bringing you the fastest coverage, the third one, bringing you the savvy coverage…

The true citizen in my hear woke up. I got ready and along with my father, went to that polling booth, where we were directed by the Election Commission to caste our vote.

We entered the school. A feeling of pride, happiness and excitement crept in (all three in one :P). The man there checked the particulars, the lady beside him, inked the pink painted index finger of the left hand with blue(the combo is looking awesome)  and then she asked me to cast my vote. I went where the ballot machine was kept. For the second time in my life, I saw the EVM. There were two machines. I kept looking for the party I wanted to vote in the second one. When it was about 1 minute that I didn’t came out, the officer asked”

“What happened?”

And see my innocence, I asked ” Where is the option of ABC party?”

He asked “Are you gonna vote for it?”

Now i realised the blunder, and again see my innocence, “No, I was just asking… if they got a place in even EVM or not..”

“Yes they did… madam… see the second option on the  machine kept on your right hand side.. can you see them there?”

“Ya… i do… I was just asking… you know…”

And then I casted my vote… and then I came out and then everybody was smiling and then I also smiled and then a thing happened.

A seemingly 80 year old lady came to me and asked me if  I could wait. She said that she lives in a flat near mine and she would be indebted if I could wait and accompany her to her home after she casts her vote. I asked my father to which he readily gave permission. My father went home and I remained there waiting for the lady to exercise her right. She was done in 5 minutes or so and then we started walking towards her home.

“So… you voted for ABC?” She asked.

“I think everybody there would have known…”

“Ya… ABC is a good party, youth oriented..” She said again.

“Ya… they project themselves like that… why did you came alone?”

“Oh… my son and daughter- in law have gone to meet one of their friends.”

“Okay… they should have voted in the morning…”

“No.. they didn’t…” She said in a low voice.

“Hmm… it’s okay… almost 40 per cent of Delhi is not gonna vote..”

“But.. they should have voted… it’s their duty… ”
Now, I was in a fix… really… should i say something… if i would that might sound rude… If I don’t… silence might also sound rude… so if it’s gonna sound rude anyways… maybe I should talk, I thought.

“How do you know I live nearby you? I rarely knew that…” (yup… I changed the topic… perfect way to escape from being sounding rude}

“Oh… I just see you coming and going to college and roaming around sometimes…”

As we approached very close to her house, “Hmm… Well i would say one thing… you should not have come out alone… I mean you could have rested in the home.”

She looked at me, and then said, “You might be thinking that I am too old and feeble and why I need to vote? I mean I may not even survive to watch the results of this election…

“NO… i didn’t meant…”

She crossed my lines and continued, “But you see… my husband was a freedom fighter… he used to tell me that he is not fighting to hound Britishers, but to claim the right to say day a day… for this he sacrificed 30 years of his life… for this he ignored many lives… and when everybody has that right, to keep that right alive… this is the only step we can take… I feel like the master of this country with just one duty that i performed today… isn’t it a a very small effort to feel that way?”

I was just listening to her… wondering if she really said that on the spot or had rehearsed all this… whatever… I felt like a king maker and at the same time i felt the wave of change that everybody in the country is hoping to witness.v

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “The Festival of Voting”

  1. Akriti April 10, 2014 at 5:11 pm #

    Awesome post

    We gotta realize that voting is something we should feel proud of since in a lot of other nations we would have had a dictator ruling us.
    Here we have the awesome choice of choosing our own leaders. We should value that 🙂

    • harshdamangal7 April 10, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

      I totally agree… We should feel pride in the sense that we are the opportune ones to claim the fruits of struggle that our forefathers did… for that amazing history and for our own glowing future… we should vote… thanks for stopping by and reading the post… nice to meet you 🙂

  2. randomlyabstract April 10, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

    I love what that lady said..:) Great post and good luck with your country’s elections. 🙂

    • harshdamangal7 April 10, 2014 at 5:18 pm #

      😛 in all my posts… gyaan ki baatein fictitious characters kar ke saare credits le jaate hain… 😛 Thanks for the blessings 🙂

      • randomlyabstract April 10, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

        Oh oh 😛 I really like what YOU said then. ^_^ And you’re welcome. I heard about the election activity but didn’t know much. So it was great to read this. Which ABC party did you vote for, by the way? 😉

      • harshdamangal7 April 10, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

        hmm… sorry but that is meant to be a secret and I am no different from people… so I also want to be with the majority …so let’s see who wins… 😛

  3. ywwp April 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

    good article…

Leave a Reply

