Happy Diwali ??

3 Nov
Happy Diwali to all the co- blogger friends.. May this Diwali bring prosperity and happiness in your life… because from my house it is somehow gone… so if you catch her… bring them back to my house…
Now, you would wonder, why am I saying so?? To know more. read the following πŸ™‚
This post is written by me, but from the point of view of an Indian home maker. This homemaker’s character is inspired by my mom… and this is a true account of what happened with her this Diwali…
Not This Time...

Not This Time…

“Madam JI…..”

This was my maid. Yes, she “was”… she left my home one day before Diwali, the day of lights, but with her leaving, my house was in chaos and my mind… despaired.
Now, you would ask, why did she left? If you are a female, you know how important maids are, and if you are a male, You get to know how important she is when she leaves ( because then you are honoured to do her job)…
So, this started 3 days before Diwali. She was doing her usual job of cleaning, when I went up to her and humbly asked:
“Will you wipe those door panes??
She gave a terrified look and said, “Where do I have the time??”
I looked at her. Yes, where does she has the time… she is 10th fail, her husband working in a factory, an illiterate women is more busy than me, a M.A. degree- holder in Sanskrit, wife of a government officer, but dependent.
But, with her plain reply, I made a decision that if she is not ready to work extra for Diwali, why should I pay her any kind of bonus or ‘bakhshish’.
The second day, when she came, she had a huge basket with her. Out of curiosity i asked,
“What’s this??”
“This is the Diwali gift, Gupta madam gave me… She bought a saree for me and a big toy for my kid.”
“Oh.. good”, I wanted to avoid any further discussion over this, but the topic was all out…
“waise.. madam.. what are you planning to give me this year?”
“What is there to plan about it… the sweets and one saree…”
“Ohho… you are saying as if this is some tradition… you can raise the standard…”
“If you want me to raise the standard, then first raise the standard of your work…”
“Why… I do such great job… what problem do you have about it..?”
I knew, she would never understand, because she already knows… but when the things had come out, I asked her…
“Waise… by what gift would you see the standards raising?”
I think she was ready with her answer,
“Maybe a mobile phone would do…”
What??… Well this is what my mind said, my tongue asked another question
“Maybe??”
“I mean, mithai aur saree to hoga hi…
Then she started off with her work, giving me no chance to defend my side…
After she finished her work, she came up to me in Kitchen and asked…
“So, what have you thought??”
“About?”
“About my phone..?”
‘See.. I am not gonna give you any phone as gift… you never did any such work with which i was happy… and gifts are given when you are happy with someone”
She didn’t replied and went away…
Maybe she took me and my stupid philosophy so seriously that the next day, she sent her oral resignation through one of her friends reasoning out that my home was so messy to clean…
Well… I don’t know if that’s true… I hope my husband would have known by this time πŸ˜› (just kidding)

You know she is important... when she is gone... :P

You know she is important… when she is gone… πŸ˜›

So, this is the gift my mom got for this Diwali… waise what have you got??Β  πŸ˜›Β  πŸ˜‰

14 Responses to “Happy Diwali ??”

  1. varun November 3, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    well… that’s a big loss, I admit.

  2. Arindam Saha November 4, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    And now I feel proud of my mother… working valiantly… alone… without a maid… since eternity… πŸ™‚

    Condolences for your mother… and to you too (as your responsibilities would have increased by now :P)

    And the answer to your last question…. One extra bhatura in the breakfast from the canteen… They reduced the size of the two bhaturas (which were already small) to make the third one…. You see? Creative and Intelligent… πŸ˜‰

    • harshdamangal7 November 4, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

      Waah… does your canteen staff reads my blog to get these ideas?? πŸ˜›
      And thanks for the condolences to me… because the responsibilities have not increased they are all delegated to me…
      And one query… calcutta me breakfast me chole bhature milte hain?? Do you have a Punjabi chef??

      • Arindam Saha November 4, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

        Yahan sab kuchh milta hai… Idli dosa bhi milta hai… can you believe it? Bus quality ke baare mein mat poochhna… Its a hostel after all…

      • harshdamangal7 November 4, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

        Hahaha… many of my friends in college stay in hostel to quality to mujhe pta hai…. πŸ™‚

      • Arindam Saha November 4, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

        πŸ™‚

      • harshdamangal7 November 4, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

        I am sending you one mail in 5- 10 minutes so i would be grateful ki tum abhi padh ke bta do ki kaisa hai… 5- 10 minute me send karungi

      • Arindam Saha November 4, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

        OK

      • harshdamangal7 November 4, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

        Good god… i think you would have to wait … sorry for keeping you waited… but got to go urgently… to hell with the ex- maid … Byei

      • Arindam Saha November 4, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

        No problem… πŸ™‚ Bye

      • harshdamangal7 November 5, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

        sent you the mail… πŸ™‚

      • Arindam Saha November 5, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

        Seeing it…

      • Arindam Saha November 5, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

        Sent u a chat request on gmail

Leave a Reply

