Casual talks with Ravana- 1

12 Oct

As we all know (and those who don’t, would now know) that tomorrow is Dusshehra. The day that marks the victory of good over evil, of Ram over Ravana, of lovable over hateful, of… (why am i sounding like a 7th grade essay on Dusshehra??)

Well… like every year, this time too in my neighborhood, the society members decided to burn the effigies of Ravana, Meghnada and Kumbhakaran. All of us were busy doing the lighting in the main ground. Well, as I was not too industrious to join my friends in working, so I just slipped of and roamed around there. That is when my eyes fell on a man who was looking very depressed and gloomy as if the lighting bill was on him.

I went up to him and asked,

“Excuse me?? May I know who are you??”

“Hahaha… tomorrow, all of you would be happy to see me… people from neighboring localities will gather and fathers will carry their small ones on their shoulders so that they can have my view…”

I was a little confused and a lot annoyed…

“Okay… so again… who are you??”

He looked at me with disappointment…and told, “I am Ravana, the ex- king of the Land of Gold…

Now, I actually looked at him. He was wearing a Rs. 100 chappal, a torn trouser, a Rs. 50 t- shirt. And he was Ravana… cool one… If this man is a psycho… then I should prove him that he is not the worst case.

“So, you are Ravana?? From the Golden Land?? Then where is all your jewellery and where are your ten heads??”

He said, “I am in Delhi, as soon as I landed here, some 3-4 young lads came in big cars and robbed me of all my jewellery and as far as my remaining nine heads are concerned, they were cut by my lord Ram in the battleground.”

Okay… i thought, he is talking so coolly, he is not blabbering things but actually telling  that straightly… omg… what if he is THE RAVANA?? Its Kalyug anything can happen….

“You still not believing me??: He asked me looking at my face…

“You can read minds??”

“Oh… after all these years many of my powers and abilities have also grown sick…”

“Ohkay… Of all in the world… why did you chose me to be seen?? I mean, it would not have been a coincidence that we met…”

“Ya… I saw that you were not interested in helping those who are gonna burn me tomorrow… maybe you symapthise with me???”

“NO, I don’t think i sympathise with you… but that’s new. Why would you think anyone should sympathise with you??”

“Why?? where have all the human rights gone… why your law fades away for me… i heard there was doctrine of justice and equality… see  Rama and his followers were intruders, Hanuman not only committed house breaking but also burnt down my whole empire. MY own brother Vibhishana broke my trust.. and I don’t want to look into past everytime… but its you people who remember me and talk evil of me…”

“Ya,,, because you have become a symbol of evil…”

“Don’t you have nothing new?? Aren’t  these robbers who snatch chains are better than me, aren’t these whistle blowers in the street who are below 18 years and desperately look out for a chance to rape a girl before they turn 18, better than me?? Aren’t those politicians better for the purpose who would practice black marketing?? Aren’t those saints better who would practice every kind of such sin which was to be penalised with death even under my rule??

His questions left me blank… I didn’t knew the answers… everybody he talked about was a better person to burn and that too not in the form of effigies, but alive… then a sound in my mind tinkled…

Is this for reality or just a chemical locha that happened to Sanjay Dutt in Lage Raho MunnaBhai??

I was lost in these thoughts, when he said, “So, what do you think??”

“I.. i think i should go home… its pretty late…”

“Huh… you have no faith on your Lord that if anything would happen to you, he would come to your rescue??”

“Its not about having faith on him, its about the distrust… Ravana, be careful… its Kalyug and to worsen the situation, its Delhi..”

He smiled at me and said, ” okay, then see you at the fair tomorrow.??

“You are coming??”

“Girl, I am the Chief Guest…after all”

Okay…

So, I rushed to home and as soon as reached home, typed this post… Wow… was it for real or just the chemical locha?? Would he come tomorrow or not… I am as ignorant about the fact as you are at this moment. So , stay on and wait for the next post of this series that will be published tomorrow !!

Might and wise talked really nice !!

Might and wise
talked really nice !!

4 Responses to “Casual talks with Ravana- 1”

  1. varun October 12, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

    well, good one. again speechless

    • harshdamangal7 October 13, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

      the second part, i hope, would have the same effect 🙂

  2. Arindam Saha October 13, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    “This is kalyug… and upon that it is Delhi…”

    Great!

    • harshdamangal7 October 14, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      Really glad that you liked it… I think now that it should have been ” its delhi and on that its kalyug…. 😛

Leave a Reply

