In “dependence” Day

15 Aug

First of all, Happy Independence Day to fellow Indians. But this post is not about the greatness or the achievements of India. This is about how Indians get treated on Independence Day in India.

15th August, the date reminds us of martyrs, tryst with destiny, happiness and above all a holiday. Although, in the recent past, it has only been remembered for the last thing by many and i am no exception. I woke up early at 10 a.m. in the morning and had two cups of tea to ward off my sleepiness. As I was flipping over the pages of newspaper, my father announced,” beta, it’s 15th August, we should go out and celebrate”. I had my other plans to go to sleep again after lunch, so I resisted. “why?? I mean there would be so much of security, its better that we choose some other day to go out.” I had not even finished that my father replied, “Huh, arre its independence day, we got freedom, we got will, and you are saying that its not safe…” He was determined and I had no choice but to leave my cozy bed and go for a wash.

The whole family got ready at 12 and we headed to India gate with our lunch, a mat, a novel and a stubborn dad. Before we could reach there, we were stopped by the traffic police at about 5 places as they were keenly interested in knowing where we were going, why we were going and all that. My father patiently co-operated with the situation. We finally covered the distance of 20 minutes in 50, to find out that whole of India Gate has been sealed for public and if you wish to see it, show your patriotism minding the difference of about half a kilometer.

We returned to our car, had out lunch in there and headed to home.

Just found this one humorous

While we were on our way to home, my father realized one thing and told me about his enlightenment that.. ” We maybe independent but it seems that we are yet to achieve freedom”.

3 Responses to “In “dependence” Day”

  1. Arindam Saha August 15, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

    Yaar… India Gate kyun gaye? Red Fort jaana tha na… Pataa nahin hai kya… aaj wahan goonge bhi bol parte hain 😉 🙂

    • harshdamangal7 August 16, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      :p good one but main gungi thode hi na hun 😀

  2. anandkumarrs August 16, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    While on this please read my post – An “I” Day Ode !!!
    Feedback welcome
    http://wp.me/p1dZc2-gN

Leave a Reply

